Just Write: On Writing

collage by daughter, 2013
collage by daughter, 2013

I’ve recently recommitted myself to writing. To writing here, to writing for my writing group, to writing for me. I don’t think I’m ready to take the NaNoWrMo challenge, but it sure is exciting to think about!

Last night I hit the send button on my first submission. It’s the first time I’ve sent my work out into the world in that way. I’ve sent it to my Mom, to my Writing Buddy, to my Writing Group and I’ve even started to let Husband read some work.

This is different writing than you see here. The essay I sent was hard to write. It was hard to share. But it felt really good to click on that button and see it go. Who knows what will happen now. I’m already working on submission number 2. That will go out next week.

I’ll keep you posted!

This Tuesday “Just Write” Post was inspired by Heather at The Extraordinary Ordinary. I’ll be linking up to her as many Tuesdays as I can muster. Another writing commitment. 

4 thoughts on “Just Write: On Writing

  1. You are brave. I write and write, and have yet to submit anything. I don’t think I even know where to begin. I have pieces written that I think “this should be an article” but I just don’t know what to do to make that next step happen. Good for you!

  2. That’s great that you have a writing buddy. Do you find that helpful? How did you find your writing group? I’m curious where you submitted your work. Sorry for all the questions. Best of luck! xo

    1. Hi – Not sure if you’ll get this, I’ve never replied this way. But answers: my writing buddy is awesome. She was actually my best friend in high school and she lives across the country. we rarely “talk” but text and send work to each other. She knows me inside and out, even though we don’t see each other often. I found my writing group the the Loft in Minneapolis. Have you heard of it? And I sent my work to a creative nonfiction anthology. We’ll see!

      1. That’s great. To have someone like that in your life. No, I haven’t heard of the loft. But I’m out here in the West. Good look hearing from the anthology – that’s very exciting!

Leave a Reply

