Hockey Hockey

IMG_4951

So, I signed the daughter up for Mini-mites hockey last week. Mini-mites is for four-year olds and it’s the youngest level of organized hockey. I looked at a few programs and realized that the one across the river was the closest and fit our schedule the best. I emailed the director and asked if I could sign her up. She politely replied that I needed to get permission from my area’s program because we live across the river. Easy, I thought.

I went online, found the program website, found the presidents name and sent him an email requesting permission to sign my four-year-old up for hockey. He said no.

No? She’s four.

So I tried again. I explained that we’re moving and won’t be in his district next year or ever again and that we wanted to make things a bit more convenient while we’re still here.

Again, I reiterated that she’s four.

I didn’t hear back.

Then I was talking to another daycare father, one that plays hockey and knows the ins and outs of the program and he was amazed that a four-year-old couldn’t get permission to play outside her area for one year. He told me he’d make some calls.

The next day I had my waiver.

Did I mention she’s four?

So now I have this waiver, but it only has one signature. I need to get four more signatures from all levels of the hockey world, just so a four-year-old can play hockey for one year near our house. Don’t get me wrong, we want her to play. She especially wants to play and had a complete meltdown last week when open skating was cancelled.

So, she wants to play, we want her to play, but really, I have to jump through all these hoops just so she (a four-year old) can play at a location convenient to our home. What has happened to the world of kids sports & activities? Has it really become this serious?

Again, did I mention she’s four?

One thought on “Hockey Hockey

Leave a Reply

