On Hold…

IMG_4651

For the past few weeks  I’ve felt that my life is on hold. Time keeps moving, days are getting shorter, school is starting, the State Fair is happening, but I feel stuck. We hoped to be in a new house by this time. Or at least be packing up the last of the wine glasses and shampoo bottles and have an idea where we’ll unpack them. Instead, we’re still vacuuming and dusting and hauling dogs to various sitters so we can open our house, yet again, to curious eyes.

I’m looking forward to getting settled somewhere else. I’m looking forward to unpacking and tossing everything we didn’t miss while it was in storage. I’m looking forward to telling daughter, “Yes, I know where that is.” Rather than, “Sorry honey, it’s in storage.”

We will sell. Or we’ll take a break and sell in the spring. I’m getting impatient, but I have to remember that I love where we are. I love where daughter goes every day. I love waking up to the sun rising over the river. I love greeting neighbors that we’ve known for years. We thought we’d be gone by now, on to something new and different, and hopefully better. Until then we’ll just wait and enjoy what we have.

Last week I went out on a friends boat and thanks to wildfires out west (Thank you, Idaho!) we were treated to an amazing sunset. I don’t get many moments to just sit and stare at the sky. But there I sat, gently bobbing in the bay with a (plastic) glass of wine in my hand.

Things aren’t so bad. Even if we are in a holding pattern.

One thought on “On Hold…

Leave a Reply

