It’s late. And I’m sitting on the couch watching NBC, surfing on the iPad, checking my phone, and writing on the laptop. It’s election night and I’m nervous. I thought it was settled and then Ohio woke up, said, Wait! Wait!. And so we wait. And wait. 

And in Minnesota we wait. Why would we change out constitution to limit a freedom? I don’t get it. 

Then again, I have never really understood politics. I left that to my sister. 

But still, I wait. I voted this morning. We were actually at the polls before they opened at 7am. We brought daughter with us, stood in the line, looked for letters in the hallways of the elementary school. I held her hand while I filled in the circles on my ballot. On the way out we both got a “I Voted” sticker. She proudly wore it on her purple shirt. 

In the car I explained to her what we had just done. That we had the opportunity to vote for the person we think is best for the job. That we can vote for amendments and laws that determine how we can live. And I got goosebumps. It’s pretty fricking cool that we get this choice. This opportunity. 

I hope someday she’ll understand. 

Until then, I really hope my peeps win.

Seriously. 

One thought on “

  1. nail-biter. still is. don’t know how long i dare stay up to see if the “no’s” have it.

    i love hearing about the BIG conversation you had with your little girl. very sweet. x

Leave a Reply

