Back to Work…

 

The desire to write grows with writing. – Desiderius Erasmus

It’s the day after Labor Day. I feel like I should be figuring out a new class schedule, loading up on new books and finding my locker. But those school days are long past for me. Okay, I still occasionally take a class, but I should be over that night-before-the-first-day-of-school-blues. Maybe it was the 11 days off we just had. Maybe it’s the 90 degree heat index. But I just feel a little bit off.

Even with a week and a half-off, I didn’t get any writing done. And I’m strangely okay with it. I got a lot of other stuff done, including just going with the flow and enjoying the last week of summer. We spent two days in Duluth for a friends’ wedding. We went paddle boarding and kayaking. We went on a long bike ride that covered two rivers and three (maybe four?) cities. We went to a Twins game. We went to the State Fair. We met friends at parks again and again. We went out to lunch, with wine, on a weekday. I even played hockey! And I ran. I ran a lot. It felt good and I’ve fallen in love with it again. (The photo above was taken during a lovely run along Lake Superior. My foot slipped on that rock and I nearly fell in, but I caught myself, and my phone.)

And I feel refreshed. We waited all summer to take a week off and have a Stay-cation. Now it’s time to buckle down and get back to work and to start writing again. Time to get back on a schedule. Get into a rhythm. WordPress threw the quote above at me while I was posting  last night:

 

Pretty appropriate, isn’t it? I know it’s true. I know once I start again, either with pen or with keyboard, it will flow. It will pour out. The ideas have been coming all along and fortunately I’ve been keeping track of them. So now it’s just the doing part. And this was a good start.

There will be more. I’m back.

Leave a Reply

