Skip to content

Cheering in the Rain

April 30, 2012

It rained most of the day on Saturday. And I, along with 4 friends, and nearly 7,000 acquaintances, ran the Annual Get in Gear road race. Originally I signed up for the 10k, after having run my first one last October. But an injury forced me to cut back on my mileage and I switched to the 5k on Friday. I was hoping to stick with the longer run, but I knew I’d regret it and possible reinjure my leg. So, I ran just the 3.1 miles. In the poring rain. And the 40 degree temps.

The highlight of the run was that the course went right past our house. Twice. That gave Daughter two chances to cheer for me (Go, Mommy, Go!) as I ran by. After the race, Husband said she was more interested with the police cars and motorcycles than the runners, but I saw her and she saw me both times I passed.

The following morning, Daughter was riding her trike through the house, around and around, from the living room, through the dining room, into the kitchen, through the hall, into the TV room and back out in the living room. She makes this circle many times a day, on her trike, her scooter or even crawling (“like a spider”). But this morning, she declared, “I the Mommy” and each time she went past I was to cheer for her, “Go, Mommy, Go!”

I love that she wanted me to cheer for her. I love that she cheered for me. I love that I am able to run, to play hockey, to be active and show her that being active can and is fun. I cheer for her every day. When she swings higher, climbs faster, draws clearer. I’m right there cheering. Louder and louder and louder.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 1, 2012 2:37 pm

    I’m living vicariously through your activities… I need to stop making excuses about not having enough time (or being afraid of breaking a foot again!) and get off my duff and do something! you rock Mama.

Leave a Reply

