5 Minute Bread

Well, I finally tried it.

I made Bread in 5 minutes and it was delicious. For years I’ve been meaning to try the method from the book, Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day. And after hearing a few people talk about it again and again, I ran to my library and borrowed the book, again. The following day my Parents gave me a gift card for a wonderful local cooking store, called Cooks of Crocus Hill. I have nearly everything I need for my kitchen, but I didn’t have a couple tools that I needed to make this Artisan Brad. So I stopped into their Edina location, which I need to mention is just a few doors down from National Chain and best then to be avoided, Sur La Table, and picked up a storage container and some popsicle molds. Well, technically, the popsicle molds have nothing to do with baking bread except to please Daughter and Husband while I’m mixing. Turns out I already had the right kind of mixer thingy and a newer oven so I was good to go.

A few days later I mixed up the dough (took about five minutes). I left it on the counter for 2 hours then stashed it in the fridge. The next day I pulled out a hunk, shaped it and let it rise. Then I baked it and then I had bread. Fresh bread. For just pennies. And I have at least three loaves to go in the fridge. The dough still needs to rise for 40 minutes and bake for 30, so it’s tough to get it on the table on a weeknight when I get home at 5:15 and need to eat at 6:00, but still. It’s possible. I can bake it the night before. I can bake it on the weekends. Still beats buying  a loaf at Lund’s for $5.99. Yes, $5.99.

2 thoughts on “5 Minute Bread

  1. I made something like this once…thanks for the reminder to get that recipe out and do it again! Yours looks beautiful. That picture looks like it’s floating in air!

Leave a Reply

