Skip to content

Untitled

June 23, 2011

This poem showed up in my  inbox the other day and it really spoke to me. What would you write?

Untitled
by Bruce Dethlefsen

what would I write
if I had only
four or five lines worth
of ink or time left?

how we children were put down
around eight o-clock in the bedroom nearby
with a crack of light from the open door
so the grownups could smoke play cards and talk

how I walked my sweetheart home
from eighth grade on that orange afternoon
carried her books from school
and she said the word marriage

how perfect the rainbow of the ball
my triple during
the all-star game
with my father there

how I heard the first cries of my baby
little bundle wrapped
in that thin pale yellow flannel blanket
in my arms against my chest

what would I write?
would I drop an anonymous note to jesus?

would I beg you
to remember to keep
this untitled green and blue
world of ours?

really what would I write
if I had only
four or five lines worth
of ink or time left?

“Untitled” by Bruce Dethlefsen, from Breather. © Fireweed Press, 2009. From MPR The Writer’s Almanac.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 5, 2011 1:47 pm

    I love “that orange afternoon”. Lovely poem.

    Chryselle

Leave a Reply

