Skip to content

Finally, A Quilt

September 7, 2010

Back in May I picked up some beautiful fabric at Purl Soho in New York City. I wanted to do something really special with it and finally decided what that was. I made a Quilt for Daughter. I used this very simple, and totally not intimidating pattern from Cluck, Cluck, Sew.

My favorite part of the process was deciding which piece to put where, and even sewing those strips together was pretty fun. After that it got just a little scary. I really didn’t want to mess it up. So it took me weeks to try to quilt it and I finally decided to do straight rows to keep it simple (and not destroy it). I also used store-bought binding to save time and a few headaches. It’s my first quilt and it looks like a first quilt. But I made it with a whole lot of my heart and I know a little girl who (will) absolutely love it. At least I do.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 7, 2010 2:10 am

    Looks great to me. The quality looks great. So pretty. She will love it.

  2. September 7, 2010 7:00 am

    it’s beautiful!

  3. September 7, 2010 7:21 am

    Wonderful! I haven’t ever gotten the hang of quilting.
    I keep making tops and waiting years and years before finishing them.
    You’ve inspired me, I am going to try to finish the 3 in-progress quilts that have been staring me in the face for so long.

  4. September 7, 2010 3:33 pm

    way to go jenn!! didn’t you just learn how to use a sewing machine? maybe there is hope for me yet. those fabrics are just scrumptous

  5. September 7, 2010 4:33 pm

    Love it! Its so fun to see it in pink! Good job and thank you for sharing it with me, Allison

  6. threesneakybugs permalink
    September 9, 2010 12:22 pm

    It’s fantastic! I love it!!

  7. Mom permalink
    September 11, 2010 12:53 pm

    Very cool. You’re starting to take after Grandma Bea. She would be SO proud!

  8. September 19, 2010 11:31 pm

    Rock On with your bad self! Love the quilt for your munchkin – She’ll love it for years to come.

Trackbacks

  1. Quilting, Continued « paper & clouds

Leave a Reply

