An Easy Grocery List Download

Have I mentioned that I love to make lists? And you know I love to eat. And I spend my days as a graphic designer. So what’s better than a professionally designed grocery list? For years I’ve been trying to figure out an efficient way to organize weekly meals, get the recipes and ingredients together and get home from the grocery store with everything on my list and without a headache. I think I figured it out. And I want to share it with you.

It’s a simple, three columned grocery list. On the left is a section to list what the meals for the week are. Start on whatever day works for you. Include breakfast, lunch and dinner or (like me) just include dinner (main dish and sides). Go through the week and write down what ingredients you need from each section of the store. This made the actual shopping trip go so quickly! There was no more running back to produce for that missing jalapeno or running back to dairy to grab shredded cheese. Amazing. When the sheet is all filled out and you’re ready to head to the store, fold it in thirds, hiding the week’s menus. This gives the paper some weight so you can cross items off. and you can easily flip back and forth and see the whole list.

Ta da! I hope this simplifies your life at least a little. It has mine. And if you have suggestions for the list (I’ll consider it a work-in-progress) send me a note. To download a pdf of the list, click below:

p&c_groceries

4 thoughts on “An Easy Grocery List Download

  1. great idea, and it’s so pretty! i’m in such a dinner rut right now, eating the same 4 meals over and over… maybe a grocery list is the kick-start i need to try some new recipes.

  2. Great idea—and wonderfully designed, as per usual for you. I love how you include space for the meal plans as well, just in case you forget to write down an ingredient or two. For us the dry goods would take up a whole other page (since we’re the crazy bulk foods people), and we’d probably have a bit of a different system for the stuff we don’t buy at the co-op (like meat from the farm, or produce from the farmers market), but this is a great seed to start my brain germinating. I’ll have to think on this some more!

  3. Fabulous! It’s similar to what I try to do, but don’t. I’ll have to see if I have enough ink to print it!

  4. do i have to admit I’m just now reading and catching up on your new blog?! It’s all the stuff I love to think about doing but never do. The creating of lists, however, it one of those things that does get done……this is GREAT! I thought my little excel sheet list was fab but this is very simple and gasp! color coded 😉

Leave a Reply

